## Minutes Elbert County Board of Commissioners Monday, January 14, 2019

Chairman Lee Vaughn called the meeting to order. Present were Chairman Vaughn, Vice Chairman Chris Alexander, Commissioner Casey Freeman, Commissioner Kenneth Ashworth, Commissioner Freddie Jones, County Administrator Bob Thomas, County Attorney Bill Daughtry, County Clerk Tamara Butler, CFO Phil Pitts.

After the pledge to the United States flag the innovation was given by Commissioner Jones.

Adoption of the Agenda. Commissioner Alexander made a motion to adopt the agenda. Commissioner Freeman seconded the motion. Upon voting the motion carried 5-0.

Adoption of the Minutes of the regular meeting on December 10, 2018. Commissioner Harper made a motion to adopt the minutes as read. Commissioner Ashworth seconded the motion. Upon voting the motion carried 5-0.

**Recognition of newly elected Chairman Lee Vaughn**. Chairman Vaughn takes the seat of retired Chairman Tommy Lyon who faithfully served Elbert County for 12 years.

**Recognition of new District 2 Commissioner Casey Freeman**. This is Commissioner Freeman's first time serving on the Board of Commissioners.

**Recognition of District 3 Commissioner Chris Alexander as Vice-Chairman for 2019.** This position will rotate each year. At this time Mr. Thomas also recognized Commissioner Ashworth and Commissioner Jones who ran unopposed and will be starting their third term.

**Recognition of the Senior Center Transportation Department being selected as the Number One rural transit department in the State of Georgia**. The Senior Center Transit Department received the Frank J. Hewell Outstanding Service award. This is a very high honor for our Transit Department and Mr. Thomas congratulated them for their dedication and hard work to earn this award.

**Discussion and approval of the reappointment of Mr. Jim Purcell to the Board of Tax Assessors for a three-year term which shall expire December 31, 2021**. Mr. Daughtry stated that Georgia law 48-5-295 provides for a 3-year term or until a member resigns. Also, on the board is Mr. Edwin Shive whose term expires December 31, 2019 and Mr. Horace Baker whose terms expires December 31, 2020. Commissioner Harper made a motion to approve the reappointment of Mr. Jim Purcell. Commissioner Jones seconded the motion. Upon voting the motion carried 5-0.

**Discussion and approval of the 2019 LMIG Program with the Georgia Department of Transportation**. Mr. Thomas stated we should receive approximately \$646,414.00 from the LMIG program with a 30 % match from the county. The projects are as follows:

- 1) Corinth Church Road
- 2) Dunn Road
- 3) Horace Road
- 4) Mauldin Road
- 5) Middleton Church Road

6) Gravel/Crusher Run for dirt roads in the county.

Commissioner Alexander made a motion to approve the 2019 LMIG Program projects. Commissioner Ashworth seconded the motion. Upon voting the motion carried 5-0.

Discussion and approval of an Intergovernmental Agreement contract between Elbert County, City of Elberton and the City of Bowman for division of revenue from the proposed TSPLOST proceeds and to call for the election on March 19, 2019. Mr. Daughtry stated this will be in the form of two written resolutions as follows:

1) Discussion and approval of an Intergovernmental Agreement between Elbert County, The City of Elberton, and the City of Bowman concerning a one percent Special District Mass Transportation Sales and Use Tax.

Commissioner Alexander made a motion to approve the Intergovernmental Agreement. Commissioner Ashworth seconded the motion. Upon voting the motion carried 5-0.

2) Discussion and approval of a Resolution Calling for the Imposition of a One Percent Special District Mass Transportation Sales and Use tax. Mr. Daughtry stated the Resolution calls for the imposition of a one percent TSPLOST subject to it's approval by the majority of the voters voting in a county-wide election to be held March 19, 2019. The TSPLOST shall be imposed for a maximum period of five (5) years, commencing on July 1, 2019 to raise an estimated \$9, 840,000 to be used for funding roads, streets and bridges improvements and maintenance. The proposed share will be 73 percent to Elbert County, 23 percent to the City of Elberton and 4 percent to the City of Bowman.

Commissioner Ashworth made a motion to approve the Resolution calling for a One Percent TSPLOST. Commissioner Freeman seconded the motion. Upon voting the motion carried 5-0.

**Discussion of a request by property owners on Jess Guest Road that the road be paved**. Mr. Thomas stated that one property owner has not signed the petition and he will continue to try to get in touch with them. The property owners were asked to give 20 feet on each side of the road to allow for ditches if the road is paved. Mr. Thomas will bring this back to the board when he gets in contact with the resident.

Request by Tom Allgood to discuss "Prions" as it relates to a possible health crisis in Elbert County. Mr. Allgood addressed the board concerning a health crisis in Elbert county, namely the Board River Farm on River Road.

Finance Report. Mr. Pitts stated that General Fund expenditures are 1.28% over budget.

**Public Comments**. Mr. Dennis Bellew, Mr. Ron Grimm and Mr. Ed Grimm addressed the board of their concerns of the same matter as Mr. Tom Allgood; especially of the rivers being polluted upstream of the Broad River Farm where the smell is horrible, and they fear for the safety of the residents who fish and play in the river and surrounding area. They implored the Commissioners to do something about this dangerous environmental issue.

Before Chairman Vaughn asked for a motion to enter Executive Session, the authorities of Elbert County, the City of Elberton and the City of Bowman were on hand to sign the Intergovernmental Agreement.

**Executive Session**. Commissioner Freeman made a motion to enter Executive Session for Personnel and Litigation. Commissioner Harper seconded the motion. Upon voting the motion carried 5-0.

Upon returning, Chairman Vaughn asked for a motion to enter General Session. Commissioner Ashworth made the motion. Commissioner Alexander seconded the motion. Upon voting the motion carried 5-0.

Chairman Vaughn stated that no action was taken.

Adjournment. Commissioner Harper made a motion to adjourn. Commissioner Alexander seconded the motion. Upon voting the motion carried 5-0.