Minutes of Called Meeting Elbert County Board of Commissioners Thursday, June 20, 2019

Chairman Lee Vaughn called the meeting to order. Present were Chairman Vaughn, Vice Chairman Horace Harper, Commissioner Casey Freeman, Commissioner Chris Alexander, Commissioner Kenneth Ashworth, County Administrator Bob Thomas, County Attorney Bill Daughtry, County Clerk Tamara Butler, CFO Phil Pitts. Commissioner Freddie Jones was absent.

After the pledge to the United States flag the invocation was given by Mr. Daughtry.

Adoption of the Agenda. Commissioner Freeman made a motion to adopt the agenda. Commissioner Ashworth seconded the motion. Upon voting the motion carried 4-0.

Discussion and approval of a Joint Resolution Amending the Development Authority. Amendments to the original 1982 Resolution of the Joint Development Authority include: The Authority shall consist of seven directors. One director shall be the Chairman of the Elbert County Board of Commissioners, one shall be the Mayor of the city of Elberton, two directors shall be appointed by the ECBOC, two directors shall be appointed by the Mayor and Council of the City of Elberton, one director shall be appointed by the Mayor and Council of the City of Bowman. The directors shall elect one of their members as Chairman and another as Vice Chairman and a Secretary/ Treasurer. Also, an Executive Committee will be created comprised of the Chairman of the Authority, Chairman of the ECBOC, and the Mayor of the City of Elberton. The Executive Committee shall conduct performance evaluations of all employees and make recommendations to the board of directors as to personnel decisions. The Executive Committee will provide daily management of the Authority in conjunction with any agents or employees and will recommend to the board of directors, strategic direction for the Authority.

Chairman Vaughn stated the City of Elberton has named Dr. Andrea Daniel and Greg Gunter as directors for the City of Elberton. Chairman Vaughn stated he would like to name Steve Banks and Randy Smith as directors for the Elbert County Board of Commissioners.

Chairman Vaughn asked for a motion to approve the amendments to the Joint Development Authority and the appointments of Steve Banks and Randy Smith as directors for the Elbert County Board of Commissioners. Commissioner Freeman made the motion to approve the changes and the appointments. Commissioner Harper seconded the motion. Upon voting the motion carried 4-0.

Public Comments. There were no public comments.

Adjournment. Commissioner Harper made a motion to adjourn. Commissioner Alexander seconded the motion. Upon voting the motion carried 4-0.