Minutes of Called Meeting Elbert County Board of Commissioners Wednesday, June 1, 2022

Chairman Lee Vaughn called the meeting to order, Present were Chairman Vaughn, Commissioner Casey Freeman, Commissioner Chris Alexander, Commissioner Kenneth Ashworth, Commissioner Freddie Jones, County Administrator Phil Pitts, County Attorney Bill Daughtry, CFO Macie Witcher, County Clerk Tamara Butler, media. Commissioner Horace Harper was absent.

After the pledge to the United States flag the invocation was given by Commissioner Jones

Adoption of the agenda. Commissioner Alexander made a motion to adopt the agenda. Commissioner Freeman seconded the motion. The motion passed 4-0.

Discussion and Approval of appointments to the Elections Board. Chairman Vaughn stated the Board of Commissioners appoints three (3) members to the board; the Democratic and Republican parties each appoint one (1) representative. The Democratic Party recommended Donna Wood as their representative and the Republican Party recommended Dustin Ayers as their representative. Commissioner Jones asked to add Angela Jones as another nominee to the board. Chairman Vaughn asked for a motion to choose three (3) of the four (4) nominations that were recommended.

Mr. Daughtry explained that the Elections Board had very little policy making authority, it was more of an administrative function. They do have to educate themselves on state law and to make sure that all election laws are being followed.

Chairman Vaughn stated that he would like the board to choose their own Chairperson and whether they wish to serve a 2-year term or longer.

Commissioner Freeman made a motion to appoint Mrs. Nancy Bessinger, Mr. Jamal Rambert and Mrs. P.Jo Phelps to the Elections Board. Commissioner Alexander seconded the motion. Upon voting, there was a tie, with Commissioner Ashworth and Commissioner Jones opposing the appointments. Chairman Vaughn cast the deciding vote in favor of the appointments of Mrs. Nancy Bessinger, Mr. Jamal Rambert and Mrs. P. Jo Phelps.

Adjournment. Commissioner Alexander made a motion to adjourn. Commissioner Freeman seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.